Interchange Thresholds: Why a $499 Charge Costs More
Four US interchange programs need a minimum ticket. On a card-absent healthcare charge, going from $499 to $500 saves about $1.83 in interchange.
By Jeffrey Anderson

- Four consumer credit programs in the 18 April 2026 Visa interchange schedule carry a minimum ticket size: Education, Healthcare and Real Estate require a transaction of $500 or more, and Services requires $100 or more.
- On a card-not-present charge in the All Other Products column, $499 under the general Product 1 program at 1.89% plus $0.10 costs $9.53, while $500 under Healthcare 1 at 1.53% plus $0.05 costs $7.70. One extra dollar of ticket saves about $1.83.
- Card present the same step saves only about $0.43, because the general Product 2 program at 1.51% plus $0.10 is already close to the vertical rate of 1.43% plus $0.05.
- A vertical program is not automatically cheaper. Card-present Services at 1.55% plus $0.10 is quoted above the general Product 2 at 1.51% plus $0.10, and is the more expensive of the two in four of the six product columns.
- The schedule states the floors but does not state which program a sub-threshold transaction falls to. Qualification also turns on MCC, authorization data and clearing timeliness, and a miss can fall as far as Non-Qualified Consumer Credit at 3.15% plus $0.10.
- Charity at 1.35% plus $0.05 and Government at 1.55% plus $0.10 are each quoted identically across all six consumer credit product columns in both tables, so the premium rewards card penalty is absent in those two programs.
Interchange thresholds are the reason a $499 charge can cost more in interchange than a $500 one. Four consumer credit programs in the US schedule do not apply at all below a stated ticket size. Education, Healthcare and Real Estate each require a transaction of $500 or more. Services requires $100 or more. Below the line, the transaction does not get that program's rate.
All figures here come from the Visa USA Interchange Reimbursement Fees schedule effective 18 April 2026, from the All Other Products column, which is where most consumer cards land. The arithmetic is ours.
The four programs and their floors
| Program | Floor | Card present | Card not present |
|---|---|---|---|
| Education | $500 | 1.43% + $0.05 | 1.53% + $0.05 |
| Healthcare | $500 | 1.43% + $0.05 | 1.53% + $0.05 |
| Real Estate | $500 | 1.43% + $0.05 | 1.53% + $0.05 |
| Services | $100 | 1.55% + $0.10 | 1.65% + $0.10 |
The general consumer credit programs in the same tables are Product 2 at 1.51% + $0.10 for card present and Product 1 at 1.89% + $0.10 for card not present.
What one dollar is worth at the line
Take a card-not-present healthcare charge, which is the sharpest version.
| Ticket | Program | Interchange | Effective rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| $499 | Product 1 at 1.89% + $0.10 | $9.53 | 1.91% |
| $500 | Healthcare 1 at 1.53% + $0.05 | $7.70 | 1.54% |
One extra dollar of ticket saves about $1.83 in interchange. That is not a rounding difference. If your billing sits in a band around $500, the practice of writing off the last few dollars of a bill is costing you real money on every one of those transactions.
Card present is a much smaller gap
The same comparison in person is far less dramatic, because the general card-present program is already cheap.
A $499 card-present charge at Product 2, 1.51% + $0.10, costs $7.63. At $500 under Healthcare 2, 1.43% + $0.05, it costs $7.20. The saving is about $0.43.
So this is mostly a card-absent problem. A clinic that bills remotely has roughly four times the incentive to watch the line that a clinic taking cards at the desk does.
The services threshold is not a win in person
Here is the part that should stop anyone from chasing thresholds blindly.
Card-present Services 2 is quoted at 1.55% + $0.10. The general Product 2 is 1.51% + $0.10. The vertical program is the more expensive of the two, on identical fixed fees.
It holds across most of the table, not just one column. Comparing Services 2 against Product 2 across the six consumer credit product columns, the two are equal in one column, Services is cheaper in one, and Services is more expensive in the remaining four.
Card not present runs the other way. Services 1 at 1.65% + $0.10 beats Product 1 at 1.89% + $0.10 in every one of the six columns.
The lesson is that a vertical program is not automatically a discount. Check the number before you assume crossing a threshold helps you.
The schedule does not say what you fall to
Worth being precise about what is published and what is not. The schedule states that each of these programs applies to transactions at or above the floor. It does not state which program a transaction below the floor lands in.
We have used Product 1 and Product 2 as the comparison because they are the general consumer credit programs in the same tables, and they are the realistic alternative. But qualification turns on more than ticket size. Your MCC, the data you submit with the authorization, and how promptly you clear all feed into it, and a transaction that misses on any of those can fall as far as Non-Qualified Consumer Credit at 3.15% + $0.10, which is quoted identically across every product column.
So treat the comparison as the shape of the problem rather than a quote. The only way to know what your transactions actually clear under is to read the fee programs on your own statement, which our guide to reading a processing statement walks through.
Two programs with no premium card penalty at all
While reading these tables, a pattern worth noting. Charity is 1.35% + $0.05 and Government is 1.55% + $0.10, and each is quoted identically across all six consumer credit product columns, in both the card-present and the card-not-present table.
In most programs a premium rewards card costs a merchant noticeably more than a basic one. In those two it costs exactly the same. That makes three such programs in this schedule, since card-present fuel behaves the same way, as covered in our post on interchange caps.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which interchange programs have a minimum ticket size?
Four in the consumer credit tables. Education, Healthcare and Real Estate require a transaction of $500 or more. Services requires $100 or more. Both the card-present and card-not-present versions carry the same floors.
How much does crossing the $500 line actually save?
On a card-not-present charge in the All Other Products column, about $1.83 going from $499 to $500. Card present it is about $0.43. The gap is wider card absent because the general card-absent program is more expensive to begin with.
Should I try to get transactions over the threshold?
Only where it is genuine. Splitting or padding a sale to reach a rate is not something the rules permit, and split transactions have their own prohibition. The legitimate version is noticing that your billing clusters just under a line and deciding whether that is how you want to invoice.
Is the vertical program always cheaper than the general one?
No. Card-present Services is quoted above the general Product 2 program in four of six product columns. Card not present, Services is cheaper in all six. Read the rate rather than assuming.
Are these the current rates?
They are the schedule effective 18 April 2026. Visa republishes it roughly twice a year, so check the current version before pricing anything. The background on how the schedule works is in our explainer on interchange rates.
Jeffrey Anderson, Merchant Placement Specialist
Merchant placement specialist at Gray Merchants. Jeffrey works directly with acquiring-bank underwriting teams across the firm’s 70+ banking relationships to place high-risk and hard-to-place businesses, structure multi-MID accounts, and keep flagged merchants processing. His writing draws on the placement files he works every week: what underwriters ask for, why accounts get declined, and what keeps an approved account open.